The Weight of Glory {Book Review}

I never meant to be one of those people who wrote about C.S. Lewis on my blog. Not because there is anything terrible about C.S. Lewis (I’m a major fan) but because it seems like such a spiritually-cliched thing to do.

I rediscovered this book in my closet. Dog-eared and worn in from a time when I set apart more time to reading the classics. Instead of giving you a clever book review, I’m going to share some of the parts that I adored as a sage 21 year old. So I’m picking and choosing from the passages underlined in purple. Enjoy Lewis’ words.

 

…it would seem that Our Lord finds our desires not too strong, but too weak. We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday by the sea. We are far too easily pleased.

 

I believe in Christianity as I believe the Sun has risen, not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else.

 

We live, in fact, in a world starved for solitude, silence, and privacy, and therefore starved for meditation and true friendship.

 

Real forgiveness means looking steadily at the sin, the sin that is left over without any excuse, after all allowances have been made, and seeing it in all its horror, dirt, meanness, and malice, and nevertheless being wholly reconciled to the man who has done it. That, and only that, is forgiveness, and that we can always have from God if we ask for it…to be a Christian means to forgive the inexcusable, because God has forgiven the inexcusable in you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

