Choose {Your Friends} Wisely

“Tell me what company thou keepst, and I’ll tell thee what thou art.”
– Miguel de Cervantes (1547 – 1616) Spanish novelist.

It’s been said that you are no better than your five closest friends. Who you hang out with will influence who you will become. Even the Bible says as much in 1 Cor. 15:33.

Being back in Portland, hanging out with my old crew, made me stop and think about who I had been, who I am, and who I am becoming. So much stems from friendships. Most days were spent going out to coffee, answering questions, and sharing life together. As much as possible before packing everything up and heading back to Texas. I was able to spend time with people that I cared about, used to care about, or perhaps just met and will probably one day care more about.

I don’t always care for who I am. I don’t always like the person I was. There’s hope for the woman I am becoming. While so much hinges on the me+God aspect, there’s so much that is influenced by the me+friends category. When I am surrounded by people who have crazy-ambition, I feel inspired to do so much more. If I have friends who are just worried about their marital status, I’ll be thinking about that more. Friends who get beyond themselves and give to the poor and needy out of the richness of their soul inspire me. The ones that act like black holes in the galaxy of their influence depress me. And the apathetic ones just make me mad. They need to feel, to do, something!

As you get older, it is harder to make new friends. I know that  I’m in a rarer situation. Once you hit that giant reset button in life, you have to make new friends.  Your soul shrinks a little bit if you don’t, of that I am convinced. Friends can inspire, influence, and encourage you. That’s why it’s important to choose wisely.

What are some of the things that your (good) friends have in common? 

Comments
2 Responses to “Choose {Your Friends} Wisely”
  1. Ruthiey says:

    “There’s hope for the woman I’m becoming.” Love that line!

    My very best friends and I have in common, a love for Jesus, a striving to be honest and being just a little bit scandalous 😀

    • caitlinmuir says:

      ///My very best friends and I have in common, a love for Jesus, a striving to be honest and being just a little bit scandalous.///

      That sounds like a wonderfully fun combination!

Leave a Reply

