One Thousand Gifts {161 – 180}

161. RN friends who will nurse you back to health! Let’s just say the heat and I don’t agree too well with each other. It’s going to be a loooooong summer.

162. Electrolytes, my new best friends.

163. Trips through lavender fields.

164. Fresh peach ice cream on a hot summer’s day. A reminder that nature’s gifts are much better than Ben+Jerry’s.

165. Long Sunday afternoon drives through the country. It’s an expensive hobby but there’s something magical about the road, music, and no agendas.

166. Count-downs to new adventures. It’s not like I’m paying that close of attention but Thursday, I’ll be on a plane.

167. Little lavender plants! I bought nine lavender plants to help spruce up the yard. It makes me happy just to look at them.

168. Dream walks through Home Depot. Sure, I can’t have a killer garden now (thank you, Bambi + company), but a girl can always dream. And it’s free. 🙂

169. Design blogs – I’m trying to wean myself off them as they are feeding the Home Depot obsession. There’s not much I can do with a rental house but that doesn’t mean I can’t get my daily fix of design!

170. Anniversaries. It’s cool to look back and see what the Lord has done. Sometimes, you just need time to see what’s been going on.

171. Other Oregon ex-pats.

172.  Laughter. This one makes the list as often as air conditioning and bug spray. I just can’t live without it.

173. Anticipation. (see no. 166)

174. Phone-calls from family. My younger brother called me for advice on his love life. That’s a completely different blog post but I’m glad he trusts me enough to call!

175. Crazy ideas. I don’t know how people live without coming up with crazy ideas evey week or so. Okay, ever day if you are like me. There’s something fun about nurturing a crazy, over-the-top, absolutely game-changing idea. Not that you have to implement them all…

176. Online shopping. I don’t know if I can count that as a gift or not. It certainly is a gift to the economy. But I’m glad that I can do my shopping from my couch when I don’t feel like going out in the 100+ degree weather. Because, quite frankly, I’d probably melt between my house and my car.

177. The lovely feeling that comes from letting go of things that clutter not only your house, but your heart as well. Sometimes, the best thing to do is let go!

178. Books with my name on it. Seriously. I’m really excited to read The Muir House. I can’t even begin to explain my glee.

179. Paychecks. I’d be in a world of hurt without one. Probably in debtors prison somewhere, paying off that one last massage.

180. Pampering. Because sometimes, you just need to indulge yourself.

Leave a Reply

