Kindness {part two}

Last week, I blogged about kindness.

I’ve been thinking about it ever since. It seems like God has had it on His mind as well because I’ve been noticing kindness in the Bible more often.

When I think of kind people, I think of Mother Theresa, my coworker Brooke, and my friend Liz. Mother Theresa showed kindness by being Jesus in skin to millions. It’s been said she had a glow about her. I don’t know if that is true or not, but I’ve noticed that the people who spend the most time with Jesus often do.

Brooke is someone I admire because she always has something kind to say. She’s the one who cheerily waves good morning when she passes my desk. Every. Single. Day. I don’t know how she manages to be so perky. That’s not the impressive part (although maybe it is, I’m not so cheery without my coffee)…she rarely has anything unkind to say about anyone. She’s the type of person who sees life through rose colored glasses and believes the best of everyone. She tries to see people like Jesus does and offer them the same grace that He does.

Liz is the kind of person who will just sit and listen to you. Listen as you spill your heart on the table and then help you pick up the pieces. She has kindness shimmering in her eyes. It’s true. Her whole family is like that and I suspect it’s somewhere in their DNA. No one is a stranger around Liz because she’s always opening up her heart to embrace them. Her sphere of influence is incredible because she takes the time to really care and really listen. I know that I’ve been blessed by the times we’ve just sat down for coffee, swapped stories, and then prayed for each other.

Maybe Liz and Brooke don’t seem like kind people to you. Maybe you are like Marissa and think that speaking with kindness is treating everyone with respect.  I think that’s kindness as well. But really, I think kindness is tenderness. Realizing that before you stands a broken human being who hurts. A person who can’t fix themselves. Someone who needs scandalous grace. Kindness is treating them with the dignity that they deserve as someone who has been created in the image of God. It’s an act of worship back to the Lord.

What do you think? Who is someone kind that you admire? How do they embody kindess? Share!

Who are the people you find to be kind?

Comments
4 Responses to “Kindness {part two}”
  1. Hey, Caitlin! One of my friends posted this on FB a few days ago: “Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a battle.” ~John Watson

    I thought of that when I read what you wrote:”Realizing that before you stands a broken human being who hurts. A person who can’t fix themselves. Someone who needs scandalous grace.”

    Thanks for the great words!

    • caitlinmuir says:

      Isn’t it wonderful to realize that everyone is in the same boat? We’re all in need of grace. What’s humbling to me is that for someone, I’m the vessel of grace. I can be healing or I can be harmful. Wish I could say that I was always healing but that’d be a lie.

  2. Rachelle says:

    “But really, I think kindness is tenderness. Realizing that before you stands a broken human being who hurts.” Love that!! So true!

    • caitlinmuir says:

      I like how the old King Jimmy version of the Bible puts it – And be ye kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake hath forgiven you.- Eph. 4:32

Leave a Reply

