Seek and Ye Shall Find

Seek and Ye Shall Find

Treasure Island was one of my favorite movies when I was growing up. Not just any version, but the classic 1950 version with Robert Newton.

Jim Hawkins was my hero. As a little girl, Long John Silver intimidated me just a bit. I would go through Jim’s emotions from trust, to hate, to finally, kindness and pity. I think I liked the movie better than I liked the book. One thing I know that I liked was bellowing “Yo ho ho, and a bottle of rum!” at the top of my lungs.

One thing I like about pirates is that they don’t mess around. They are driven by this intense desire that propels them to abandon all else. Obsession with gold. Treasure.

I smile when I look at this picture. If you didn’t know, that’s me in the middle. Being crazy with my cousins on a “Pirate Day” at a family reunion years ago. The pose makes me think of that part in the Gospels (Mt. 7) where Jesus says –

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.”

Do I act like a spoiled princess, whining when my fingernail polish chips and I don’t get my desires right away? Or do I act like a pirate, following the map and actively seeking?

God does not exist to cater to my whims. I was made to exist, seeking His glory and enjoying His presence. If He gives me a dream or a challenge, how am I seeking?

Pirate or princess. How do you seek?

Leave a Reply

