Make it Angry Poet style, please!

I’ve recently been on a poetry kick.

Not writing poetry, reading poetry out loud. Spoken word style sounds like Angry-Poet to me sometimes. And Angry-Poet is so much more fun to say. What exactly does that entail? A lot of over-enunciation of words, staccato cadences, and letting the natural rhythms of the sounds take priority over punctuation.  It’s been a lot of fun.

I think this poem started it off. I love the message and the energy Janette puts into it. The people at Passion for Christ are absolutely brilliant in my book, infusing spoken word poetry with blunt truth. You don’t have to spend hours analyzing verse to get the message.

My search for poetry to practice on led me to Facebook. I have a few friends who write poetry in notes on their pages. What started out as a whim to laugh ended up in a late-night poetry recitation. That’s when I discovered something – reading slightly angry-poet style is fun.

All of a sudden, you are listening to the words. You are paying attention to the message instead of just who is presenting it. It’s a beautiful thing, really. Why don’t we always read in such a way?

Comments
7 Responses to “Make it Angry Poet style, please!”
  1. India says:

    Wow that poem was sooo great, and in so many ways. “Adam – atom – add ’em” – love it.

    • caitlinmuir says:

      Isn’t it a fun one? There’s a lot of good stuff that comes out of that group. I wish there were more of them! I saw that video at just the right time and I knew I had to share it!

  2. Michael says:

    I’m not a big poetry fan, but I love what I’ve always called Spoken Word. It sounds like what I’ve been calling spoken word was really Angry Poet…

    Have you listened to Taylor Mali? He has a couple of inappropriate poems, but his way with words and enunciation is amazing.

  3. Shawn says:

    Your idea reminds me of Gertrude Steinem’s Susie Asado (http://www.poetryoutloud.org/poems/poem.html?id=175775).

    She liked the sound of words too.

    • caitlinmuir says:

      Wow. I think I’ll start reading Susie Asado just to prep myself for camera time and teleprompters. Let’s hope I don’t get too many scripts with assonance or alliteration! Thanks, Shawn!

Leave a Reply

