Choose Joy

Sunrise

There were plenty of moments last month when I felt like a giant cheese-grater was going over my soul. The grater would pass, skinning of parts of my heart, making my soul bleed.

Bleed but not bleed out. There were days that were messy, sure. Life is messy. When you have a planet of flawed individuals trying their best to dam up the bleeding in their own souls, crazy stuff happens and more people often get hurt in the process.

The fact is, I’m alive and well. My lines have fallen in good places. There are so many things that I can be grateful for. More than one thousand to be sure.

One thing I relearned in the month of April is this – joy is a choice. The euphoric feels you get don’t always last but there’s always a geyser of joy, somewhere in your soul. It might be gunked up, it might have the Hoover Dam blocking it, but it’s there. Waiting to be tapped into.

In the words of L.M. Montgomery – “Tomorrow is a new day, with no mistakes in it…yet.”

Choose joy. Life is so much more beautiful that way.

Comments
4 Responses to “Choose Joy”
  1. Judy Watters says:

    So true. And why would we get up out of bed day after day and choose anything else? But we do. We don’t necessarily have to be giddy-happy, but we can have joy every day…the joy that says “I am excited to be alive to serve Him and others.”

  2. That’s awesome. A quote from Pastor Dave last Sunday “JOY should not be diminished by trials, but deepened by trials….” and so therefore your JOY can be deepened because of what you experienced in April! God is faithful!

  3. Caleb Macias says:

    That is so great! Joy is a choice not a circumstance. We act like if we just change our circumstance we’ll find joy when in the end we had it all along and simply chose not to use it.

  4. caitlinmuir says:

    @Judy – So true. I’m usually a fan of the euphoric highs but finding joy in the valley is so much deeper.

    @Abby – I missed the sermon. I’ll have to catch up this weekend! Sounds like something I need to hear!

    @Caleb – You just have to blow up the dam every day, I guess. I think joy can be found in a watery smile. You can’t deny the emotions that bubble to the surface but you can choose to dig deeper.

Leave a Reply

