Never Quit

I started playing the piano when I was eight years old.

My family had an upright piano that dwelled in our living room. It was a gift from my grandparents, I think. Honestly, I don’t remember when we got the piano. I do remember my first year of piano lessons though.

Like most students, I was introduced to the world of scales. Hours and hours of scales. Then came Hanon and the sixty exercises he concocted that were designed to make your fingers limber. It was aerobics for your hands and not your ears. After Hanon came the B’s – Bach, Beethoven, and Brahams. Then came the lyrical world of Chopin.

And then…I quit.

I found that I couldn’t balance life + work + school + piano practice. So I gave up the piano, which was quite the pity because by that time, we had a baby grand. And once you have a baby grand at your disposal, it’s very hard to go back to the world of uprights.

I found a piano on the banks of the river last weekend. It was part of an art installation and had been put there for people to play. So I did. When I sat down, I had one of my first twinges of regret. You see, I had forgotten everything.

I wish I had never given up practicing the piano.

Moral of the story: If you love something, never give up on it.

Comments
2 Responses to “Never Quit”
  1. : ( That’s so sad Caitlin, I know that feeling – to sit there I realize that you’ve unintentionally (or worse, intentionally) lost something dear to the busyness of life. Why don’t you add re-discovering Bach, Beethoven, and Brahams (but most of all Chopin) to your Old/boring/30 list?

    ~ Hattie

Leave a Reply

