Monday’s Rebellion

I wake up every Monday morning with my fist clenched tight. Try as I might, I can’t wake up with a smile. More like a groan.

Even though I love my job, like most other working class Americans, I dread leaving the weekend behind. Trading my list of things to do for a list of things for other people, even when money is involved, just isn’t on the top of my natural priority list.

Is anyone else more tempted to sleep in on Mondays than they are the weekends?

But I suppose I should be grateful. I have a job. I have a reason to get up on Mondays. I love what I do, I love the deadlines, I love the up-and-down nature of my position. I love the quiet moment in the morning when the sun in skimming the tops of the trees, and when I’m not blaring the music to wake myself up, I love the sound of birds chirping in the meadow. I love the way the wind whips through the cabin of my car, tangling and unfurling my long tendrils. I love the smell of coffee, the warmth of my oversized mug. I love my coffee mug, the way it reminds me of one of my favorite adventures.

I guess I have reasons to love Mondays.

Comments
2 Responses to “Monday’s Rebellion”
  1. Lauren Bleser says:

    I had suuuuch a hard time getting up this morning also. Thanks for the good perspective of gratitude. 🙂

  2. brittanyk1 says:

    I never have that problem. I always jump out of bed bright and cheery, ready to welcome the day.

    Or… not. Thanks for the good reminders of Monday mornings, though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

