3+1

Two weeks ago, my friend Nathan, approached me with an idea. He was excited and as he’s not one for dramatics, I paid attention. While the Texas sun beat down, I listened as he told about the newest project that he felt the Lord had put on his heart. As he spoke, he became more animated. Farm boys from Oklahoma usually don’t get that animated, at least, not in my experience.

“It’s about spending three hours alone with God,” Nathan said. “It can be once a week or once a month. But the goal is to just get away from your media and to get alone with God.”

I signed up.

Three hours seemed like a long time. When was the last time that you spent three hours focusing on something? Watching a movie doesn’t count.

I didn’t know that the time would help shape the next week of my life. I didn’t know that the verses I would read would give me peace when part of my heart was bruised. But God did. And He spoke truth into my heart before the doubt or lies could take hold.

What did I do for my 3+1 time? I read my Bible. I read promises that God gave the Isrealites in the Old Testament. I read the words of wise women who have gone before. I read until I thought I would go mad and then I began to write.

Words are how I think. If I just stop for a moment, I can see words in my minds eye, popping up on a chalkboard like a typographical video. Some people think in pictures or paintings. My gift is words. So I write and the words spill out from my soul. Some of them came down in hot torrents, a quick cascade, a tsunami of emotional debris that stormed the page and left it in ruins. Other emotions were harder to get out, slow and thick, like a cold jar of honey tipped on its side.

But out they came. Spilled out before the Lord. There for Him to do with them what He would. And then I shut up. And listened.

Nathan’s “3+1” is going to be incorporated into my life. It’s so good for me to just listen. With a quiet heart. With no agenda. With tears streaming down my cheeks. With a willing heart. With the expectation of an answer.

My 3+1 might look different than other people’s versions. I’ll probably have my personal trinity (me+coffee+Bible), waiting for God to speak. That’s one of the best combinations of 3+1 that I can think of.

Comments
2 Responses to “3+1”
  1. Hannah says:

    Caitlin, I want you to know that I truly enjoy receiving each one of these posts in my inbox several times a week. It’s about the only piece of email I want to read every morning!

    This topic really caught my interest…and I’m encouraged to try this “3+1” idea too. I’ve been thinking so much about how technology has taken over my life, and how I hate that..but now’s the time to DO something about that! Thanks for providing the impetus. πŸ™‚

    • caitlinmuir says:

      Hannah, your comment made my day! I’m glad I can offer a little bit of encouragement for you. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

