I Pray For Love

This song is one of my favorites. There are so many memories intertwined with it but most of all, I love the way that the Lord has used it in my life.

It’s one thing to want love but it’s entirely another thing to give it. Once you open your heart to love, you open yourself up to pain. More importantly, you open yourself up to miracles and intense growth. It can be a beautiful thing.

When I think about this song, I think about the way I want to love people. Not just in a romantic way but in a way that touches more people than my mate. I want to see the world through the eyes of Jesus, the eyes of compassion, and the eyes of LOVE.

The Lord has been speaking to my heart quite a bit this year about watching my tongue. If you know me well, you know that I have this habit of making snarky and outrageous comments. Biting my tongue can be hard because there’s always a quip just waiting to come out. But often, my words aren’t used to build up people. They are used to twist a knife in someone’s back. They don’t encourage, they make people snicker.

You can’t run off your mouth when you are trying to show love. Words have power. Solomon was right when he said that “Death and Life are in the power of the tongue.” They really are. I’ve seen people be torn to shreds, their heart ripped out and left beating a bloody mess on the floor, by the cruel words of a loved one. May that never be me. May God forgive me for when I did that to people. It makes me cringe to think about.

I’ve seen what love looks like. It looks a lot like old people with eyes that crinkle at the corners. It looks a lot like a toddler looking hopefully for affirmation. It looks like respect.

Love is more about giving than taking. It’s the essence of this song, the essence of Jesus’ message. And it’s a beautiful thing.

Leave a Reply

