Pack a sweater

Home is a very chilly place.

I remember the days when I thought that winter meant bundling up, perfecting the art of layering, and running from one Starbucks to another.

I have the sneaking suspicion that I will be rudely reintroduced to this lifestyle. I’ve gotten used to lazy Sunday afternoon drives through the country with my convertible top down. Washing my car in the sunshine. Wearing shorts and flip-flops in early March. ¬†South Texas is a wonderful place to be in the wintertime. Summer is “hotter than the hinges of Hades” as one friend has told me, but that’s a different story.

Portland will be cold until July.

Granted, now anything less than 70 is cold to me.

I am excited about packing my newest darling find at GAP. Darling might be an exaggeration. It’s a bold kick of color that holds your attention in a death grip. The picture really doesn’t do it justice. Cross neon green with highlighter yellow and you have half the intensity of the sweater. I’ve never owned anything half so bold. I wore it to work on Monday and a coworker told me that “it ought to be illegal to wear on Monday’s. Too bright!”

Bwahaha.

I’m going to be bringing the sunshine to Portland, even if I can’t bring the South Texas heat.

Leave a Reply

