Esther, Beth Moore, and Me

I am loving being part of the Beth Moore Bible Study on the book of Esther.

Six weeks ago, I didn’t expect to like it that much. I knew that it would be good for me but I didn’t think it would be life shattering. It hasn’t been either. There are only so many things that can be. But something better is happening. I’m enjoying getting into the Bible again.

You know how it is when reading the Bible becomes a chore. Don’t pretend like you don’t because you’d be lying. Everyone goes through it at one point or another. It’s not that all of a sudden you don’t like the Bible, or you’re mad at God, or you can’t stand Jesus, let alone the Holy Spirit. It’s usually that something else has sapped your attention or affection. Or you’ve taken God for granted and you are bored.

There’s something about the way that Beth has been teaching that has grabbed my attention. She has this wonderful, no-nonsense way about her that makes you want to sit up and soak up what she’s saying. Her Houston accent dips thicker when she gets excited and you are left leaning forward, laughing at some of the expressions she uses. One of the things I like best about her is that she’s real. She’s flawed. She’s lovedrunk on God. That’s pretty awesome in my book.

The book of Esther has come alive. It was one of my favorite books as a kid, just because it was one of the only female-centric books. But I’ve grown to love it for other reasons. Esther wasn’t a shrinking violet. She was gorgeous but she was valiant. I love the fact that she didn’t whimper in the face of adversity. She gathered her wits about her, got her support group praying for her, and marched down to see the King, even if it would kill her.

Beth does a fantastic job of painting the scene in Susa. Gone are the flannel-graph characters and in their place are the flesh and blood warriors of ancient times. The book of Esther is more like a saga than a flannel-graph. And I love that.

For me, I find Esther inspirational. That’s hardly shocking. She had noble character. She had substance and I am convinced that she had spunk. She couldn’t have survived the intrigues of the court if she didn’t.

If you read Esther as a kid, what did you think about her? Has your perspective changed as you got older?

Leave a Reply

