It’s the…

Simple things in life that make all the difference in the world.

I’m working on being more kind and gracious this year. Unfortunately, there’s not a switch that you can flip to make that process happen immediately. There’s a wearing down of self that must first happen in the soul before you tongue gets sweetened. I’m always ready with a quick retort, when maybe, I need to be a little bit more encouraging.

There’s power in spoken words. That’s something I was told time and time again when I was 18. I was living with a sweet Southern family in Eastern Europe. The mama was always sugary sweet and made sure to pass on a heritage of kindness. For a west-coast girl, I wasn’t sure what to do. I’d grown up admiring truth and bluntness.

But there is power in the spoken word. The principle is repeated throughout the Bible – in Proverbs especially.

I’ve been trying to do it more but it isn’t easy. Cutting comebacks are always so easy to slip out. I wish it weren’t so but it is. I’m not a sugary-sweet woman. I speak my mind, usually no matter what is on it. So I’ve decided that I need to think before I speak – let my words catch up with what my soul really wants to communicate. We’ll see how well it works.

Leave a Reply

