That was awkward

Awkwardness cracks me up.

I don’t think being awkward is terrible. I’ve been reading this book and in it, the authors argue that awkwardness breaks down the door to authenticity. It makes sense. We’re all terribly goofy people who just want to be glamorous or to be perceived as such. Deep down inside, we just want to be loved and we buy into the lie that we aren’t lovable as we are. Maybe that’s just me though.

I bought an incredible pair of glasses a few months ago. My roommate and I were shopping and when I saw them, I knew that they’d be fun at the moment and hot in a few months. So I bought them, put them on, and started to have fun. They are incredibly awkward. When we went to Target, people didn’t know what to think. I kept getting stares – was that girl as blind as she looked? Where did she get those hideous spectacles? My poor roommate didn’t know if she should laugh or just be embarrassed. When I put them on at work, I love it because they are great conversation starters. They are awkward.

It’s okay to be awkward. I’m not talking about running around church pretending that you have Turrets. I’m talking about being yourself. Being who you are. And being okay with that. If people are too shallow to accept you for who you are, you probably don’t want them in your life anyway. So be awkward, embrace authentic, and find out who sticks around.

 

 

awkward caitlin?

Comments
4 Responses to “That was awkward”
  1. Hannah says:

    Caitlin, I like those glasses! 😀
    But even more, I think this post has a great point. If I can’t have fun while being my funny, awkward self, what else is there to do? Be a Barbie doll?! Lame!

    Those who really care about me won’t mind my being real, and those who do mind probably don’t really care at all! 😉

  2. Caleb says:

    Love em.

  3. Haha, the glasses are odd, but that’s what makes them fun! ; ) Kinda reminds me of some of the rather ummm interesting {yet extremely fun} things I’ve worn out in public before. . . . . . .

  4. Jerah says:

    I like the glasses. 🙂

Leave a Reply

