Day 2

I got my adventure.

Thursday was a long day. I spent way too many hours in the car, pretty much because I have a propensity for getting lost. And GPS’s are not easy to use in Puerto Rico because their address system is different than the mainland’s.

I wrapped up a fun day of shooting – this was still the business part of my trip. The family that I was interviewing was so kind, welcoming, and inspirational. They’ve taken over a former coffee plantation and are living off the land, harvesting plantains, oranges,  bananas, all while raising goats and a family. There were wild orchids on their property. They own three cliffs. Everyone gets along. I will miss them when I leave. They’ve told me that I can come back and stay with them whenever. I think I just might do that. 🙂

This was also the day when I realized just how much God takes care of me. I popped a tire on a dark, twisty road in the mountains near Utuado. Of course, there was no cell phone rececption. The family whose driveway I ended up on didn’t speak English. I don’t speak Spanish. BUT – they completely rescued me by putting the spare tire on for me. I made it to the nearest police station, where only one officer (who was about ready to get off work) spoke English. But they had a telephone and I was able to call my car rental company. So for the next hour (and right after shift change), I sat in the lobby of the Mameyes Police station. The fresh officers came in wanting to know why I was there. But I couldn’t speak Spanish!

The parents from the interviewed family came down the mountain to help translate for me. They offered to let me stay at their house for the night. But I was off to San Juan with Mickey, the tow truck driver who spoke basic English. San Juan was a 2 hour drive. Then I had to get a new rental car, which isn’t as nice as my old one. Mickey dropped my first car off at the repair lot before dropping me off at the rental company. There were a few raised eyebrows from the tourists in line. I guess it’s not every day that a young woman with bright pink luggage and a giant tripod gets dropped off by a giant tow truck!

From there is was a long drive back to my first hotel. There was no way that I was going to make it back on that road in the dark. But all in all, I think God was watching out for me. I asked for an adventure and I got one!

 

My apologies for the lack of pictures in this post. I wanted to take pictures in the police station but thought that I shouldn’t push my luck.

Leave a Reply

