Day 1, part 2

Plantains are quickly becoming my favorite Puerto Rican staple. At dinner last night, I had pineappled Tilapia with rice, steamed vegetables, fried bananas, and smooshed plantains that had also been fried. So incredibly yummy. My taste buds will never be the same.

I’m getting to learn the sound of the Coqui frog. The frog is indigenous to Puerto Rico and many of the locals have a soft spot for it. Sadly, it is becoming endangered due to non-native preditors introduced to the island. It’s being eaten by aligators and iguanas, two species that according to locals, have no business on the island. The Coqui makes a funny frog sound similar to it’s name. I can hear some sort of bird whistling outside my window.

I’ve also been informed that I shouldn’t say that I am in the jungle for jungles are more dense and belong in in Africa. Latin America, which I am on the edge of, is home to rainforests, such as the mighty Amazon. Come to think of it, that’s what it sounds like outside. One of those old computer games where you had to navigate down the Amazon River. Like The Oregon Trail game, minus the covered wagons, deer hunting, and chance of getting dysentery. I always ended up eaten by a Jaguar or falling into Piranha infested waters in that game. Jungle or not, I think I’d rather meet Tarzan.

Comments
2 Responses to “Day 1, part 2”
  1. Brittany says:

    I REMEMBER THAT GAME!!! And now you get to live it. Well… hopefully no jaguars or piranhas. Don’t DIE, Caitlin Muir.

    Keep having an awesome time. 🙂

  2. Teresa Tures says:

    Oh, Caitlin, enjoy your time in Puerto Rico! I can’t wait to hear all about it. The exotic descriptions made me jealous, but the reference to dysentery in the Oregon Trail game made me laugh. Take care!

Leave a Reply

