Try something new

The {2010 = year of change} formula has been working quite nicely. I’m on the cusp of August and have a new residency, new car, new job, and new hair color. When I look at my driver’s license, I don’t see the fresh faced 18 year old kid with the Hilary Clinton hair and the mega-watt smile. I see a vanilla flavored stock photo model who looks nothing like the me I used to be. At first I wasn’t even sure it was me. But it is.

Terrible things happen I’m bored. It’s a law of my nature. I need to have things to focus on or else my creative energy is used for my sole amusement. People challenge me to do stupid things and I do them not to prove to them that I can but to myself that I can stomach them.

Want an example? I ate a grasshopper this weekend.Ā  A live one. One moment I was thinking how much he looked like little Jimminy Cricket and then next I was eating him. Such is the way of a carnivore. I did it because someone dared me. Not because I cared what they thought but because I was thought with the absurd notion that I wanted to know if I could stomach it or not. It became a question of my mind over matter.

Down that hatch went Jimminy Jr. He tasted like grass. Not too crunchy and thankfully, not to juicy. Just grass. Or like a venti soy green tea latte. Which if you’ve had, you either love or hate. I love them. But I wouldn’t recommend grasshoppers to anyone. I’m sure there’s a surprisingly large percentage of the population who have popped the bugs into their mouths. but I don’t know how large the population of US Citizens who have done that is.

Anyway. This is why I should not be bored.

I told my sister about it and she urged me to do something different every night just to keep expanding myself. “Don’t go home until you are exhausted!” she said.

So tomorrow, I’m revisiting a girlhood dream. I’m taking horseback riding lessons. All I remember of my childhood lessons was a mini-pony named Blackie. That’s not much to go off so I’m starting from scratch and learning the classical method.

I can’t wait.

That’s one day scheduled for the week. Now to figure out what to do the other 6 nights of the week!

Comments
2 Responses to “Try something new”
  1. Bethany says:

    Aww, poor little innocent grasshopper. Please at least clarify that you won’t be working your way all the way up the food chain in that manner…? šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

