Midnight Musings

It’s late and I get up to leave for the airport in five or six hours.

My first business trip with the company brought me out to the golden coast of California. Today, I went shopping on Rodeo Drive and played in the ocean near Santa Monica. My skin is sun-kissed and my heart is happy. Bon-Bon the Beauty Queen was in town so we spent the afternoon together. She’s one of those people who I love to hang out with. Always have. Hopefully always will.

Work is going fabulously well. Any time travel is involved, I’m happy.

Someone asked me this weekend if I had a boyfriend.

I told them no.

They asked me why not.

I’d like to know the answer to that question as well. There are fabulous perks to being single. Like being able to move across the country if you’d like. Or just plain ol’ mobility. If you want to do something, you just BAM! do it. You are the captain of your ship and you can steer your life wherever you want without thinking about another person. Terribly selfish of me but I am enjoying this phase. I subscribe to the theory of life that tells you to enjoy the place you are at instead of always longing for something else. Because really, another person doesn’t make life easier. They make life more complicated.

It isn’t going to work forever, this being happy single bit. One day I’ll wake up at 37 and wonder why the heck I’m not married. But it hasn’t happened yet and I still have a few years to do before I’m an old maid. I write a singles column for Dallas Christian Family Magazine. So being single helps with that. But it wasn’t until this weekend when I suddenly realized that having a boyfriend would be really nice.

It’s because I have terrible Tuesdays. Seriously. The last two Tuesdays have been torrid. I’ve locked my keys in my car and had to wait hours and hours for AAA to pop the lock and I’ve left my cell phone in dive diners in semi-sketchy parts of town. Well, that and my car started making funny sounds when I accidentally went 4xing. I didn’t want to drive it again so I called some of the guys from work and asked them to drive me down to the dive diner. The time before, I had one of the other guys from work hang out. Because if you’re stuck in a parking lot, you might as well have a parking lot party. It seems logical to me. So having a boyfriend would be awesome. Too bad I’m not interested in anyone at this point.

On a more serious note, it has been awesome to see how God provides. When it’s only me, I’m brought to the realization time and time again that I really can’t do it on my own. I end up praying quite a bit and God always provides. I’m blown away by Providence. It’s never late and never early. The blessings and care always come at the perfect moment. From my ruby-red mustang to my weekend in LA – God spoils me.

So I guess that’s pretty awesome.

Leave a Reply

