Captivating {Book Review}

I never jumped on the Captivating bandwagon years ago. Everyone told me it was a good book but I didn’t believe them. Or I thought that I’d get around to reading it but I never did. Until it came up as a book I could review with Thomas Nelson.

The book is life changing.

Instead of offering a list of do’s and don’t, John and Stasi Eldredge unwrap the essence of a woman’s heart. What it means to be the woman God created you to be. They discuss Eve as the crowning glory of creation, the moment when God knew his work was finished. There’s a glory, a beauty, specific to a woman. An essence that must be gently coaxed out.

The three main points of the book were simple enough – a woman wants to be romanced, to play an irreplaceable part in a great adventure, and unveil beauty. All true.

I love that the Eldredge’s don’t demand women to fit into stereotyped roles. They don’t encourage the lie of what a Godly woman must be. We’ve all heard them – Godly women must have spotless houses, feasts set on the table for their husbands, demure attitudes, and be Martha Stewart without a staff to help her out. Each woman has a different calling – there are some things that all women are called to but it isn’t slavery to unrealistic expectations. God does call us to vulnerabilty and absolute trust. No fear. No brittle edges. Just glowing trust. This is a book to markup and keep.

Disclosure: No, I don’t get paid for my opinions. Thomas Nelson gives me books and I give them my honest opnion. No money is given.

Comments
4 Responses to “Captivating {Book Review}”
  1. Hi!
    For some good reading, check out http://www.goodshortbooks.com.

    You might also be interested in following my blog, http://www.lineofserenity.wordpress.com

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. Caitlinmuir says:

    Caitlinmuir…

    […] something about caitlinmuir[…]…

  2. […] I never jumped on the Captivating bandwagon years ago. Everyone told me it was a good book but I didn't believe them. Or I thought that I'd get around to reading it but I never did. Until it came up as a book I could review with Thomas Nelson. The book is life changing. Instead of offering a list of do's and don't, John and Stasi Eldredge unwrap the essence of a woman's heart. What it means to be the woman God created you to be. They discuss Eve … Read More […]



Leave a Reply

