C-C-C-Change

When I decided that 2010 was going to be my year of change, I had no idea where that idea would take me. It’s already taken me on two trips, three hair colors, a lifestyle change (thank you, Tony Horton and P90x), and given me a new brother-in-law. But to be honest, I had nothing to do with that change.

Life is changing once again. This time, it’s a little bit more permanent. You see, this Northwest child, formerly with hair of gold and sparkling white skin, is moving. Moving far away from the streets where perfectly roasted coffee flows from the dormant volcanos. Far away from the lush summer afternoons spent laying in the tall green grass, watching the clouds morph in the blue-blue sky. Far away from my kin and the madness they bring.

In a way, I’m hitting the “reset” button on life.

It makes me uncomfortable to think that I may never see some people again in life. But it makes me more uncomfortable not living while waiting for them to die. As a Christian, I know that good-byes are just brief interruptions in eternity. But that knowledge doesn’t always translate well into my actions.

I’m grateful for the opportunity to launch something new, especially in this economy. I’m in awe of the way that things have come together so perfectly. I’m blessed to have had so many amazing friends and experiences in the NW. If you’ve never been to the Pacific Northwest, do something to change that. Seriously. A piece of my heart will always be in town, maybe taking a hike through the forest, climbing the sand dunes by the beach, or just lazying in the mild summer weather.

The next month is going to be a month of “lasts” and “firsts.” And I can’t wait.

Comments
One Response to “C-C-C-Change”
  1. YES for the “reset” button on life!!!

Leave a Reply

