NaNoWriMo – Day 29

I was ahead of the game for awhile.

A week ago, I was hovering at 40,000 words, ready to dash and finish the novel up splendidly. Then there was another technology induced hiccup in my plans and I had to start back at 3-,000 words. It’s been rough. I have less than 72 hours to finish up my novel. The wordcount is at 43,830.

Part of me wonders if it’s all just rubbish. Writing this novel has consumed me in ways that Goodbye Mr. 7:45 didn’t. There were few nights that I stayed up until 2 a.m., trying to find the perfect word that expressed how Bailey was feeling. There weren’t as many twists and turns. There was form and outlines to follow. This one is messy like a classroom of five-year olds with fingerpaints.

I think the perfectionist in me took a vacation this month. And I’m not going to lie. I kinda liked it.

Comments
One Response to “NaNoWriMo – Day 29”
  1. Ez says:

    It’s sort of horrifying and exhilarating at the same time. I had to bitch slap my inner editor a week ago and kick her out till Dec 1st.

    I’m right there with you though. I’m at 47 thousand, and the last five have been brutal agony. I love every second of it thought.

    off to finish tonight’s quota… loves

Leave a Reply

