NaNoWriMo (Day one)

I’m exactly 1,647 words into my story. It isn’t much but I can already tell that it’s going to venture off the plotted path. Writing a strong lead is important to me and the planned opening was just too weak-sauce to be satisfactory.

The end product is going to be around 50,000 words. It needs to be that long to actually finish according to NaNoWriMo rules but it can’t be any longer if I want to submit it to a certain publishing house. I guess that’s the part that I forgot to mention, huh?

It’s a romance. Yes, you read that correctly. For all my whining about romances and griping about the Darcy-obsessed of the world, I’ve decided to get completely out of my comfort zone and write a full-blown romance novel. There will be no bodice ripping, no covers with a shirtless Fabio. Just a story about a boy and a girl and how they made their way to a happily ever after.

If all goes according to plan (because we know how often it does), I’ll be able to keep up with NaNoWriMo and my magazine writing as well. Keep your fingers crossed! I’ve got some magazine deadlines looming ahead of me and I don’t want to miss any of them.

Comments
One Response to “NaNoWriMo (Day one)”
  1. I’m doing NaNoWriMo too, although I’m way behind by now and will become more behind as I’m taking a few days off to outline.

    I can hear what you are saying about romance writing. I am not a romance reader at all but there is a strong love story in my latest work.

Leave a Reply

