{random updates at midnight}

It seems that my coffee habits are catching up to me. I’ve got to quit taking so many shots of espresso during the day. I want to feel tired at normal hours and go to bed at a healthy hour.

Goodbye Mr. 7:45 is still being looked at by one of the agents I met at the convention. If I don’t hear from her within a few weeks, I’ll send her a friendly email. I’m also working on a proposal packet for another agent. It would be nice to have a definite yes or no before I send the next packet out but sometimes life just doesn’t work out that way.

I started working on a new novel this afternoon and I’m quite excited about it. It’s in first person like Goodbye Mr. 7:45 but the tone is quite different. The heroine isn’t a light-hearted photographer. She isn’t eternally optimistic. She doesn’t have a sister like Elizabeth. She’s an only child. An orphan. Her eyes were opened wide to the mortality in life and her soul knows what it feels like to be torn in two.  The story starts out on a much more serious note and will stay that way for the duration. It isn’t going to be light and fluffy. It won’t be laugh out loud funny. I want to grow as a writer so I’m trying something much deeper and complex. If I’m a contemporary fiction writer, I’m going to do my best to explore the possibilities the genre offers. It’s a nice niche because there is so much that can be done.

It’s too soon for a name for the new novel. The story arc is still being worked on. But the first few thousand words have been written down and the character is alive in my mind. There are worksheets to fill out, turmoils to work through, and many, many more pages to be written.

I’ll write more as it comes.

Peace out!

Comments
2 Responses to “{random updates at midnight}”
  1. Lily-Bea says:

    I’m excited for you. Enjoy!

  2. Good luck on it! Starting a new project can be exciting and terrifying at the same time.

Leave a Reply

